PROVIDENCE – The Ocean State’s lowest earners could be getting their first pay bump in five years, reported the Associated Press.
On Monday, the R.I. House of Representatives voted 60-to-8 to raise the state’s minimum wage from $7.40 an hour to $7.75 an hour.
Comparatively, the minimum hourly wage in Massachusetts and Connecticut is $8 and $8.25, respectively.
The state Senate approved the pay hike last week, and the measure is headed to Gov. Lincoln D. Chafee to approve.
According to the news source, some Republican lawmakers argue that the pay increase would prompt small businesses to delay new hire and food retailers have complained that higher wages will lead to an increase in food prices.
If approved by Chafee, who has made no comment on his support, the wage increase would go into effect in 2013.
PBN is now accepting applications for its newest award program and event for RI & Bristol County to celebrate the Manufacturing Renaissance that is evolving regionally and across the country. The deadline for applications is March 20th.
PBN's annual Book of Lists has been an essential resource for the local business community for almost 30 years. The Book of Lists features a wealth of company rankings from a variety of fields and industries, including banking, health care, real estate, law, hospitality, education, not-for-profits, technology and many more.