Updated March 27 at 6:35pm

Sign up to receive Providence Business News' newsletters
and breaking news alerts.  

health care

New officers installed at R.I. Medical Society


PROVIDENCE – Dr. Alyn L. Adrain was elected president of the Rhode Island Medical Society, chosen to lead the organization into its third century at its 201st annual meeting. Adrain is an gastroenterologist practicing in Providence and a clinical assistant professor of medicine at The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.

Dr. Elaine C. Jones, a neurologist in Bristol, was elected to serve as president-elect. Dr. Peter Karczmar, a pulmonologist in East Providence was elected vice president, Dr. Elizabeth Lange, a pediatrician, was elected secretary, and Dr. Jerry Fingerut, medical director at the Blackstone Valley Community Health Center, was elected treasurer.

Also at the annual meeting, Dr. Joseph D. DiMase and Dr. Patrick J. Sweeny received the Herbert H. Rakatansky Award for Professionalism in Medicine. DiMase received the award posthumously.

The Charles L. Hill Award for contributions to the Medical Society was presented to Dr. Charles McDonald, who is chairman of the department of Dermatology, The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University.

Dr. Alyn L. Adrain, R.I. Medical Society, The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Latest News