Updated March 28 at 12:29am

Rhodes scholarships go to 5 at Stanford


NEW YORK - Stanford University students won five Rhodes Scholarships, the most in the school’s history, while Harvard, Brown and Princeton each were awarded four as the 32 U.S. recipients of one of the world’s most prestigious academic awards were named Sunday.

The University of Washington had two scholars and California State University Long Beach and Bard College had their first-ever recipients, according to a statement from the Office of the American Secretary of the Rhodes Trust.

The Rhodes Scholarships were established in 1902 in the will of Cecil Rhodes, a British mine operator and explorer who founded what is now the Johannesburg-based De Beers Group. Rhodes Scholarships fund two or three years of study at the University of Oxford in the U.K. Scholars were chosen from more than 2,000 applicants.

Past winners include former U.S. President Bill Clinton, Bobby Jindal, governor of Louisiana, and Rachel Maddow, host of the similarly named MSNBC news show.

Among this year’s winners were Ronan Farrow, Bard’s youngest graduate ever at 15 in 2004, the Rhodes Trust said. Farrow, who works for the U.S. Department of State as the special adviser to the secretary on global youth issues, is the son of actors Woody Allen and Mia Farrow. He grew up with 14 adopted siblings from seven countries speaking six languages, the trust said.

Eighty Worldwide

This year, for the fourth time since 1976, there were more female U.S. scholars than male, 17 to 15, the Trust said. The total value of a scholarship is about $50,000 a year, the Trust said.

About 80 scholars are chosen worldwide, with the scholarships also going to recipients from 14 other nations and regions, including Australia, Bermuda, Canada, Germany, India, and New Zealand.

Before this year, 332 students from Harvard University, in Cambridge, Mass., had been named Rhodes Scholars, the most from any U.S. university.

With Sunday’s results, 3,260 Americans representing 314 colleges and universities have received Rhodes Scholarships, the Trust said.

Scholars are nominated by their universities and finalists are interviewed. This year, Rhodes finalist Patrick Witt, a quarterback on Yale’s football team, chose not to interview because it conflicted with Saturday’s game against Harvard. Harvard won, 45-7.

List of Winners

The winners this year were:

Mohit Agrawal, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey; Aysha Bagchi, Stanford University, near Palo Alto, California; Alexis Brown, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Stephanie Bryson, California State University Long Beach; Elizabeth Butterworth, Princeton; Joshua Carpenter, University of Alabama at Birmingham; Nina Cohen, Bryn Mawr College, Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania; Zachary Crippen, U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colorado;

Brianna Doherty, Brown University, Providence; Ronan Farrow, Bard College and Yale Law School; Samuel Galler, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts; Nabeel Gillani, Brown; Byron Gray, University of Washington, Seattle; Anand Habib, Stanford; Helen Jack, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut; Emma LeBlanc, Brown; Spencer Lenfield, Harvard; Stephanie Lin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts; Kelsey Murrell, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas; Ishan Nath, Stanford;

Katherine Niehaus, Stanford; David Poritz, Brown; Cory Rodgers, University of Pittsburgh; Miriam Rosenbaum, Princeton; Brett Rosenberg, Harvard; Carrie Ryan, University of the South, Sewanee, Tennessee; Tenzin Seldon, Stanford; Sarah Smierciak, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois; Astrid Stuth, Princeton; Brandon Turner, Wake Forest University, Winston- Salem, North Carolina; Cameron Turtle, University of Washington; Victor Yang, Harvard.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Latest News